If you know, you know! What is the legal cost of that special brownie? Want to see how little it takes to get you thrown in prison? My sweet treat visual demo will have you shook!
Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuM7rQsbKbw&t=2s
Texas law makes it illegal to possess, cultivate, or distribute cannabis concentrate with over .3% THC (tetrahydrocannabinol, the psychoactive ingredient in cannabis). Meaning that you’ll be in big trouble if you’re caught with the stuff. I’m talking about felony offenses y’all!
Scratching the Surface
I’m going to break down the top 3 things you need to know if you’re going to be consuming cannabis anywhere in Texas. No, I’m not urging you to spark it up knowing how much trouble it could get you in but if you are then you should at least know what you could be facing. Here’s a speed round before we get to the nitty gritty details:
1. The amount of cannabis you get caught with can dramatically impact the degree of the punishment.
2. The different forms of cannabis matter.
3. Texas recognizes the difference between CBD and THC - THC being the villain in the eyes of the law.
Let’s consider some factors that can contribute to how cannabis can affect your record and what Texas law says about it! First and foremost, the amount of cannabis you get caught with can dramatically impact the degree of the punishment. The amount of cannabis you are charged with possessing is measured through the weight of the product. That’s right, the weight of the full edible or concentrate and NOT the actual THC dosage. Let me demonstrate. Let’s assume that each of these tasty treats has THC in it.
• 1 brownie bite is 9.6 grams, a second degree felony: 2-20 years of prison o Giving away the whole plate? That’s manufacturing and delivery. A first degree felony.
• Two mangos are also a second degree felony
• Here’s the kicker, 1 sour patch kid, third degree felony, 2-10 years in prison.
You may be saying, but wait, Alex, there’s only 15 mg of THC in that brownie. Well, that’s not how Texas law works. Drugs are weighed with “adulterants and dilutants” - like flour, sugar, and gelatin. That means if you have 4 ounces of special brownies with only 15 mg of THC you will get charged with a full 4 ounces of drugs. Secondly, the different forms of cannabis matter. Quantity affects the penalty. If you have flower, you can get popped with anything from a Class B misdemeanor to a felony. Although, you’d have to possess more than 4oz to get into felony territory. Lastly, Texas recognizes the difference between CBD and THC - THC being the villain in the eyes of the law. Thankfully, CBD is not something that you can get in trouble for using. If you are a cannabis advocate, like me, I’d urge you to ask your representative to legalize cannabis. We all know it’s medical benefits.
Knowledge is Power!
We all know that recreational cannabis isn’t legal in Texas. Plus, El Paso is still arresting people with concentrates. Help me spread the word and share this with your friends. If you do consume or transport edibles, you need to know this info!